New Series: The Originals

Click for more photos of the cast!

Because I am a sappy 20-something female, I cannot refuse a show with vampires and werewolves in it (I do NOT like Twilight, though.  I have some self-respect, thank you).  Thus, I am addicted to CW’s The Vampire Diaries.  Naturally, I had to check out the series’ spinoff, The Originals, centering around the “first vampires”.  I must say, I was a little dubious.  I love Klaus like a chubber loves cake, but I’m not so sure the fella needs his own show.  It looks like I may be wrong, however.  And here’s why.

1. More Vampire Diaries universe.  Just like my possibly unfounded excitement toward Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, I am very eager to experience extra helpings of one of my favorite guilty pleasures.  Not that I’m guilty about Harry Potter. The sick thing is that I’m not even remotely shameful about my unhealthy obsession with all things Potter.

2. Klaus is a badass.  The only reason this would need elaborated upon is if you don’t watch the show.  In which case, I feel sorry for you.

3. The story actually has promise.  I hate the whole pregnant Haley thing, but then I just hate Haley and the little wolfie in her womb is prolonging her existence on the CW.  Bleh.  Otherwise, though, I am intrigued and want to find out what will happen—which is what makes for a good, and lasting, television series.  Can’t wait to see where this show takes me!

This entry was posted in Television and tagged , , , , , , , , by bpaige08. Bookmark the permalink.

About bpaige08

I am one of those infamous 20 somethings, fresh out from under the college umbrella. I have always had a deep love for all things pop culture: movies, television, music, books, and (although I cringe to admit it to the nameless mass reading this) celebrity. Acting is my dream, although I currently need to pay off Uncle Sam before I can pursue my lifelong ambition. But that hasn't stopped my passion. I am also passionate about food, animals, and the environment. No, I am not a vegan. No, I do not want to be one. I like eggs. And cheese. They rock. I am TOTALLY open for suggestions, comments, and complaints. Feel free to harass me for my writing style or tell me how much you agree with me.

3 thoughts on “New Series: The Originals

    • That is my biggest issue with the series right now–Klaus and Caroline are so far away from each other! This is a romance I’m sure will happen, but they are going to drag it out for as long as we fans can take it!!

  1. Sounds like an interesting series…I might have to check it out. Espicially if it is recomended by a fellow HP fan and Twilight non-fan. 🙂

    There is certainly no need to feel even “remotely shameful about my unhealthy obsession with all things Potter” 🙂 Well said!

    ~Aspen

Join the discussion

