13 Days of Halloween!!!!

One thing to know about us is that we LOVE Halloween.  The holiday is more of a season in our eyes, one where dressing out of the ordinary is expected and rewarded, and taking things from strangers is normal.  It trumps Christmas, easily, and to celebrate we are starting a 13 Days of Halloween blog series.  Basically, we gush and rave about some of our favorite horror and Halloween films.

First on the list: Hocus Pocus

hocus-pocus-movie-poster-1619

Hocus Pocus is a beloved Disney classic featuring Bette Midler as the eldest of the three Sanderson sisters–witches who terrorized Salem hundreds of years ago.  They were on the search for eternal youth, and attempted to drain the life out of children to achieve it.  Thackery Binks sounded the alarm, but not before losing his sister and being turned into a cat.

Flash forward to 1993 and we find Max and his little sister Dani (played by the ever-charismatic Thora Birch).  They’ve just moved to town and because it’s Halloween, learn about the legend of the Sanderson sisters.  In order to impress the hot girl in class, Max takes Dani and said hot girl to the Sanderson sisters’ house and proceeds to light the candle that brings them back from the dead (because he’s a virgin, per the legend).  Wasting no time, the sisters are back to their antics again.  The rest of the film follows Max and the gang, lead by the cat Thackery, as they try to thwart the sisters and save the children of Salem.

I have loved this movie since I was a little girl, so it may be one of those instances where the glory is more nostalgia than actually cinematic gold.  But I don’t care!  I laugh and cry every time I see it, and am still mildly in love with Thackery Binx (fun fact:  he and Dickon from The Secret Garden populated my fantasies from age 8-12).

I’m sure it will be playing on ABC Family sometime over the next 13 days.  If you live under a rock and haven’t seen it, give it a try!  If nothing else, you’ll see Sarah Jessica Parker before she was Carrie Bradshaw.

This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , by bpaige08. Bookmark the permalink.

About bpaige08

I am one of those infamous 20 somethings, fresh out from under the college umbrella. I have always had a deep love for all things pop culture: movies, television, music, books, and (although I cringe to admit it to the nameless mass reading this) celebrity. Acting is my dream, although I currently need to pay off Uncle Sam before I can pursue my lifelong ambition. But that hasn't stopped my passion. I am also passionate about food, animals, and the environment. No, I am not a vegan. No, I do not want to be one. I like eggs. And cheese. They rock. I am TOTALLY open for suggestions, comments, and complaints. Feel free to harass me for my writing style or tell me how much you agree with me.

One thought on “13 Days of Halloween!!!!

  1. Hocus Pocus is one of my favorite movies from my childhood. It is just so campy, but in such an awesome way. Also, one of my biggest revelations as an adult was discovering that Thackery went on to play McGee from NCIS!

Join the discussion

