5 Days of Halloween

I’m popping them all out today to get caught up!  I’m sure my Facebook is blowing up….oops.

Signs (2002) is one of the few movies that gives me the chills every time I watch it.  M. Night Shyamalan is known for his super creepy directing.  He builds up the tension and intrigue slowly but surely and (usually) ends with a great payout.  In this case, the film follows Rev. Graham Hess (Mel Gibson, before becoming the hated anti-Semite) and his family in a farm town in Pennsylvania.  We know that he no longer believes in God, that something has shaken his faith, but we do not find out until later in the film.  Strange things are happening all over the country–birds are falling out the sky, crop circles are appearing in fields, and Rev. Hess realizes he and his family are being watched.  As the film builds, we of course realize that aliens are the culprit behind all of the strangeness, but no one knows whether they are on Earth for good or evil (I bet you can guess which, because who wants to watch a movie about happy aliens that pick flowers and chase butterflies?)  What I love about the screenplay is that every tiny little detail that is displayed to us has a purpose, because in this film everything happens for a reason.

Also starring Joaquin Phoenix, Abigail Breslin, and Rory Culkin.

This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , by bpaige08. Bookmark the permalink.

About bpaige08

I am one of those infamous 20 somethings, fresh out from under the college umbrella. I have always had a deep love for all things pop culture: movies, television, music, books, and (although I cringe to admit it to the nameless mass reading this) celebrity. Acting is my dream, although I currently need to pay off Uncle Sam before I can pursue my lifelong ambition. But that hasn't stopped my passion. I am also passionate about food, animals, and the environment. No, I am not a vegan. No, I do not want to be one. I like eggs. And cheese. They rock. I am TOTALLY open for suggestions, comments, and complaints. Feel free to harass me for my writing style or tell me how much you agree with me.

Join the discussion

