Allegiant: Not the Way to End a Trilogy

allegiant

I am a huge fan of Veronica Roth’s Divergent Trilogy.  The first two books were devoured as quickly as any Harry Potter novel I’ve ever read (that means really quickly, basically only stopping to eat or use the bathroom).  I enjoyed the ease of the prose, as well as the fantastic images and characters that the writer painted.  There was enough loss to make it realistic, but plenty heart and warmth to keep you reading and hope for the best.  I’ve eagerly awaited the final novel in the trilogy, Allegiant, and bought it the day it came out.  To my displeasure, I was not nearly as captivated as with the others.  The words did not flow as well, due in large part to the introduction of dual narrators.  While Roth captured Tris with ease and precision, she lacks the finesse to narrate from two different characters’ perspectives.  I am not downplaying her talent.  She is a fabulous author and creates a beautifully desciptive landscape of places and characters.  I just couldn’t get behind her latest work.  I wonder if she didn’t rush it a little for her fans and editors.  While I cannot begin to describe the irritation I feel for George RR Martin’s slow writing pace, there is something to be said for taking one’s time.

Other than the split narrative that through off the pace and ease of the writing, there were a few other things that made the novel feel disconnected.  For one, it takes place almost entirely outside of Chicago, the setting of the first two.  The name of the book refers to a revolutionary group that the characters barely deal with.  The conflict feels hastily tied up in a way that negates the premise of the entire book.  A main death comes out of nowhere and serves no real purpose, except to try to elicit emotion from the reader.  That emotion is hard to feel, though, due to the narrator’s lack of emotional depth.  I don’t want to say it was a waste of my time…but it kind of feels that way.  I do not share with Allegiant the respect and enthusiasm I feel for Divergent and Insurgent.  It just was not the right way to end a beloved trilogy.

This entry was posted in Books and tagged , , , , , , , , by bpaige08. Bookmark the permalink.

About bpaige08

I am one of those infamous 20 somethings, fresh out from under the college umbrella. I have always had a deep love for all things pop culture: movies, television, music, books, and (although I cringe to admit it to the nameless mass reading this) celebrity. Acting is my dream, although I currently need to pay off Uncle Sam before I can pursue my lifelong ambition. But that hasn't stopped my passion. I am also passionate about food, animals, and the environment. No, I am not a vegan. No, I do not want to be one. I like eggs. And cheese. They rock. I am TOTALLY open for suggestions, comments, and complaints. Feel free to harass me for my writing style or tell me how much you agree with me.

3 thoughts on “Allegiant: Not the Way to End a Trilogy

    • Reading7Mandy,

      Thank you for your feedback. I appreciate your opinion! And I’m glad you enjoyed the ending and thought it ended well. My opinion differs from yours, which is just fine! However, I never said it was the ending of this book I dislike (although I do think it is a bit arbitrary and done to death). What I did not and do not like about Allegiant is the disjointed feeling the sudden split narrative has, the name that does not fit with the book, the hastily resolved conflict, and the fact that after the death we are left with an emotionally stunted narrator to try to help us experience her death. The book just didn’t fit in with the other two. Instead of their younger sister, it’s their 3rd cousin twice removed.

      As for happy endings, I’m a bit jaded and don’t much care for them. They’re not realistic, and they normally come with the sacrafice of the plot. I was pissed Rowling didn’t kill Harry. HE should have died. I’m not convinced Tris should have. But it’s not my call! It IS however, my opinon.

Join the discussion

