2 Days of Halloween!

In honor of THE HOLIDAY tomorrow, I have decided to nominate The Exorcist (1973) as our 2nd Day of Halloween film.  Why, you ask?  It is delightfully spooky, terrifyingly irreverent, and to those of us believers, could possibly happen.  Gasp!  Sure, it pretty much ruined any career Linda Blair may have had, but I’m sure she’s still garnering royalties.  What makes The Exorcist so amazing is the real feel of the entire film.  The camera angles and acting techniques make us seem as if we’re watching a documentary, not a horror film.  And oh my goodness, the special effects are so believable, especially for a classic film from the 70s!

If you live under a rock and have not seen or heard of the film, The Exorcist is one of the top-rated horror films of all time.  It is about a teenage girl who begins acting strangely.  After trying everything else, her mother begins to suspect her daughter is possessed by a strange entity, so she calls on the help of two priests.  The film starts slowly, but starts to really build after the priests get involved.  The film also spawned some sequels, none of which are as good as the original, but they’re worth a viewing for spooks’ sake.

This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , by bpaige08. Bookmark the permalink.

About bpaige08

I am one of those infamous 20 somethings, fresh out from under the college umbrella. I have always had a deep love for all things pop culture: movies, television, music, books, and (although I cringe to admit it to the nameless mass reading this) celebrity. Acting is my dream, although I currently need to pay off Uncle Sam before I can pursue my lifelong ambition. But that hasn't stopped my passion. I am also passionate about food, animals, and the environment. No, I am not a vegan. No, I do not want to be one. I like eggs. And cheese. They rock. I am TOTALLY open for suggestions, comments, and complaints. Feel free to harass me for my writing style or tell me how much you agree with me.

Join the discussion

