Movie to wait for: Maleficent (2014)

BY4EB00CcAAXwIf

Disney, which has become an even larger mega company with the purchase of LucasFilm and Marvel, seems to have an urge to reinvigorate the Disney Princess genre.  Cinderella premieres in 2015, and Maleficent will greet theaters this summer.  Not to mention, of course, the Once Upon a Time series and potential spin-offs.  I, for one, am thrilled.  As a 90s child, I grew up with Belle, Ariel, and Jasmine, as well as the classic princesses Sleeping Beauty, Snow White, and Cinderella.  I’m ecstatic to see these modern, live action, reincarnations. 

Maleficent (2014) stars Angelina Jolie in the titular role.  This time around, we see the story from the perspective of the “evil witch”.  What made her evil?  Why does she curse Aurora?  What the hell is up with those freaky horns?  I’m intrigued by the trailer, although I don’t love the choice to cast Elle Fanning as Aurora.  She still looks so young and in my mind Aurora is a little more mature.  But I love Elle, and she’s breathtakingly beautiful, so maybe she can make it work.  Jolie, on the other hand, seems born to play the role.  We know she can act, and I’m eager to see her play a villain (even if she’s technically the heroine of her own story here).  Visually, however, she IS Maleficent. 

Intrigued?  Check out the trailer here!

What do you think?  Worth a shot?

 

This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , by bpaige08. Bookmark the permalink.

About bpaige08

I am one of those infamous 20 somethings, fresh out from under the college umbrella. I have always had a deep love for all things pop culture: movies, television, music, books, and (although I cringe to admit it to the nameless mass reading this) celebrity. Acting is my dream, although I currently need to pay off Uncle Sam before I can pursue my lifelong ambition. But that hasn't stopped my passion. I am also passionate about food, animals, and the environment. No, I am not a vegan. No, I do not want to be one. I like eggs. And cheese. They rock. I am TOTALLY open for suggestions, comments, and complaints. Feel free to harass me for my writing style or tell me how much you agree with me.

Join the discussion

