3 Days of Christmas

Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer (1964), is probably one of the most well-known and beloved Christmas movies of all time.  Who doesn’t know the song, at the very least?  A classic stop motion film in the same vein as Frosty the Snowman, The Little Drummer Boy, and Santa Claus is Coming to Town, among others, Rudolph is a step above the rest.  The movie, in case you live under a rock, is about Rudolph, a freak reindeer with a glowing red nose.  He’s picked on by all of the other reindeer at the North Pole, and even Santa himself ridicules his brilliant honker.  Upset and feeling like the textbook disappointment, he and fellow outcasts Hermey, the elf who dreams of being a dentist instead of making toys, and Yukon Cornelius strike out on their own.  They face a run-in with the Abominable Snowman and make it to the Island of Misfit Toys.  The gang promises to get Santa to deliver the toys to children on Christmas, but when Rudolph gets back to the North Pole to confront Santa, he realizes a terrible storm is preventing Santa from delivering any toys that year.  That is, until Santa sees Rudolph and gets a “bright” idea….

This story is a timeless underdog one, but I must admit I’m not sure how I feel about Santa being a douche at the onset of the film.  Isn’t he supposed to be children’s hero?  I mean seriously, what’s that teaching them?!  But otherwise, I love it.  It’s short and sweet and a completely necessary part of every Christmas.

This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , by bpaige08. Bookmark the permalink.

About bpaige08

I am one of those infamous 20 somethings, fresh out from under the college umbrella. I have always had a deep love for all things pop culture: movies, television, music, books, and (although I cringe to admit it to the nameless mass reading this) celebrity. Acting is my dream, although I currently need to pay off Uncle Sam before I can pursue my lifelong ambition. But that hasn't stopped my passion. I am also passionate about food, animals, and the environment. No, I am not a vegan. No, I do not want to be one. I like eggs. And cheese. They rock. I am TOTALLY open for suggestions, comments, and complaints. Feel free to harass me for my writing style or tell me how much you agree with me.

Join the discussion

